The House Beneath The Cliffs by Sharon Gosling

A remote yet beautiful Scottish village. A tiny kitchen lunch club. The perfect place
to start again.
Anna moves to Crovie, a tiny fishing village on the Moray Firth, for a fresh start. But when
she arrives, she realises her new home is really no more than a shed, and the village itself
sits beneath a cliff right on the edge of the sea, in constant danger of storms and landslides.
Has she made a terrible mistake?
Yet as she begins to learn about the Scottish coast and its people, something she thought
she’d lost reawakens in her. She rediscovers her love of cooking, and turns her kitchen into
a pop-up lunch club. But not all the locals are delighted about her arrival, and some are
keen to see her plans fail.
Will Anna really be able to put down roots in this remote and wild village? Or will her
fragile new beginning start to crumble with the cliffs . . . ?
Beautiful, moving and utterly absorbing, The House Beneath the Cliffs is a novel of
friendship and food, storms and secrets, and the beauty of second chances. An
exciting new voice in commercial fiction, perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop and Kate
Morton.

My Thoughts

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

When Anna Campbell moves to the remote fishing village of Crovie she has high hopes to put all the troubles from her life in London behind her. She makes a somewhat spontaneous purchase of the Fishergirl’s Luck, but her initial happiness is soon squashed as some of the villagers are less than welcoming.

Thankfully some of the villagers befriend her, and slowly but surely help her to piece her shattered life back together, and when people realise that Anna is an exceptionally good cook, the Fishergirl’s Luck quickly becomes a haven for other food lovers.

What follows is a truly delightful story that captivates you entirely right up to the very last page. The setting is breath-taking and is brought to life in vivid detail by the author, allowing you to picture yourself walking alongside the characters and experiencing life from their perspectives too.

Each of the characters are well developed and have their own well fleshed out personalities and flaws that make them all the more relatable and realistic to the reader. Anna is a character that quickly nestles her way in to your heart as she evokes a connection with the reader from the start, something that grows deeper with every passsing chapter.

Full of drama and truly heart-warming moments, this is a story I would urge others to read and fall in love with like I did.

About the Author

Sharon Gosling lives with her husband in a very remote village in northern Cumbia, where they
moved to run a second-hand bookshop, Withnail Books in Penrith. She began her career in
entertainment journalism, writing for magazines in the science fiction and fantasy genre, before
moving on to write tie-in books for TV shows such as Stargate and the ‘re-imagined’ Battlestar
Galactica. She has also written, produced and directed audio dramas based in the same genre.
When she’s not writing, she creates beautiful linocut artwork and is the author of multiple
children’s books. The House Beneath the Cliffs is her first adult novel. Follow her at
@sharongosling.

*Thank you to Anne Cater at Random Things Tours, Simon & Schuster books and Sharon Gosling for providing me with a gifted copy of this book in return for my honest review. All thoughts are entirely my own and not influenced in any way.*

1 thought on “The House Beneath The Cliffs by Sharon Gosling”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s