Greece Actually by Sue Roberts

Take one sea-view villa, add two dates with a Greek God, a few glasses of wine, a dash of accidental nudity, and a heavy dose of sunshine. Recipe for a perfect getaway… or an absolute disaster?

Small, shy, safe. That’s how Becky lives ever since her last romantic calamity landed her in hospital. Her comfort zone is as confining as her tiny bank balance, and fiercely guarded by her totally over-the-top mum. But the news that her ex is back sniffing round is the final straw. In a very un-Becky move, she packs her bags for the Greek island of Skiathos. Maybe the setting of her favourite ABBA movie will be just the break from reality Becky needs…

Stepping aboard the Mamma Mia! boat tour, Becky leaves her fear in the port as she sings… out loud… in public, and cries Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! to everything the Greek life has to offer. She befriends locals young, old, and absolutely perfect (hello, sizzling hot restaurant-owner Kyros!), dines on freshly baked bread drizzled in golden olive oil on a starlit date, and walks barefoot along silky sandy beaches.

When Kyros asks her to stay longer, Becky is stunned. Could she really create a new life for herself here, and trust her heart with this smooth-talking charmer? But just as she’s thinking about putting down roots, her troublesome ex makes a dramatic return, begging for her back. Will she go back to playing it safe, or will she take a chance on Greece and embrace her true dancing queen?

An absolutely laugh-out-loud summer rom-com guaranteed to give you THAT holiday feeling! Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella.

My Thoughts

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Becky is a shy, reserved character who owns her own shop selling handmade lotions and soaps. Her business is the thing that is really keeping her going of late, especially after the breakdown of her last relationship which landed her in hospital and her ex in prison.

This has obviously left Becky rather sceptical about love, and has every reason to be cautious about opening up to others following this awful incident. When her Uncle Harry asks her to look after his villa in a small, picturesque town in Greece it seems like the perfect opportunity for her to take a much needed break. She invited her friends Paige and Abby along on the vacation with her, knowing that they will certainly make the experience unforgettable.

Whilst in Greece Becky meets handsome restaurant owner Kyros who really captures her attention from the moment they cross paths. With her friends, this handsome stranger and a beautiful island to occupy her, it looks as though this break could be exactly what Becky needs to rebuild herself once again.

Sue Roberts has once again provided us with a laugh out loud, heart-warming read that has you enchanted from the start. With the picturesque setting of Greece, we are taken on a journey alongside Becky and her friends, allowing us the perfect form of escapism. The storyline itself is wonderfully written and certainly leads you through a range of emotions as the story pushes forward, and as we learn more about Becky as an individual and all that she has lived through you find yourself really rooting for her and her happiness.

Each of the characters you meet within the pages of this book have their own vibrant personalities which certainly provides us with some amazing dialogue between them. The romance that begins to blossom between Becky and Kyros is a beautiful slow-burner, as she has to learn to open herself up once more. A truly wonderful story that nestles its way into your heart.

You can purchase a copy of this book by following the links below

Amazon: https://bit.ly/2TU8eQb

Apple: https://apple.co/2T44H10

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2T2Ikch

Google: https://bit.ly/3yEkcwJ

About the Author

Sue Roberts lives in Lancashire with her long term partner Derek and has had a lifelong love of writing, encouraged by winning a school writing competition at the age of 11.

She always assumed that ‘one day’ she would write a book, always having a busy household and a job, the idea remained firmly on the back burner but never forgotten.

The inspiration for her first novel came to her on a holiday to a Greek village. Her daughters had left home and suddenly the time had come to write that book!

https://www.instagram.com/suerobertsauthor/

https://twitter.com/suerobertsautho

*Thank you to Sarah Hardy at Bookouture and Sue Roberts for providing me with a gifted copy of this book in return for my honest review. All thoughts are entirely my own and not influenced in any way.*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s