Her White Lie by Jackie Walsh

Her dream wedding might become a nightmare

Tara Moore feels like the luckiest girl in the world. She’s finally found the man of her dreams, and after the fairytale wedding, she’s leaving Dublin to start a new life in Australia.

Until Avril Ryan’s body is discovered in a house that Tara lived in three years ago.

Tara doesn’t know Avril, so why was she the last person Avril called? How has she become the number one suspect?

But what the police don’t know is that Tara’s past conceals her own dangerous secrets. And as the detectives start digging and old friendships come to light, Tara begins to wonder who she can trust.

Will her wedding day become her last?

A twisty, unputdownable psychological thriller packed with suspense. Fans of T.M. Logan and Samantha Hayes will be completely gripped.

My Thoughts

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

The description for this book captured my interest straight away, and as soon as I read the opening page I knew this would be a book I would lose myself in. The story alternates between the two central characters Tara and Faye who are childhood friends. The pair had been inseparable since the age of eight, but the past three years has seen a rift force them apart.

Tara certainly feels as though she has a perfect life, as her wedding to Lucas is fast approaching, as well as their plans to leave Dublin behind them and start a new life together in Australia. But Tara’s perfect life is thrown into turmoil when the body of a woman – identified as Avril Ryan’s – is found in the house Tara lived in three years ago.

Tara has never met Avril before, and is left reeling when she discovers that she is the last person she had called prior to her death. None of this makes sense to Tara, and she is left questioning who she can actually trust in her life. As the police begin looking into the tragic murder of Avril, secrets from Tara’s past are at threat of being uncovered.

When we then hear from Faye and her outlook on the situation we get to see that all is not as it initially seems. Both women are harbouring secrets from their past that they hoped would remain hidden, and as the story progresses we are treated to various insights into their lives all those years ago, alongside the present day events consuming them too.

The storyline is thrilling and had me intrigued from the start. I have to admit, I didn’t find either of the women particularly ‘likeable’ but I do believe that added to the story in a positive way, as it allowed me to see them both equally. There are an abundance of twists and turns that have you on the edge of your seat as the story begins to unfold, with each chapter ramping up the tension further and keeping you well and truly engrossed to the very end.

Alongside a cast of fascinating, well developed characters that each add their own spin to this chilling tale, this book had everything you could possibly desire from a psychological thriller. An absolute page turner that has left me eagerly awaiting future releases by Jackie Walsh.

About the Author

Jackie Walsh lives in Dublin with her husband Paul and dog Layla. She is a member of the Irish Writers Centre and The Irish Crime writer’s group. After years spent building her own business she decided to take time out and pursue her interest in writing. With a lot to learn, Jackie attended classes, writing groups and travelled to lots of festivals and launches. She secured a publishing deal with Hera Books who published Familiar Strangers and The Secrets He Kept in 2019, Five Little Words in 2020 and Her White Lie which will be published in July 2021.

Twitter: @JackieWalsh_ie

*Thank you to Sarah Hardy at Book On The Bright Side, Hera Books and Jackie Walsh for providing me with a gifted copy of this book in return for my honest review. All thoughts are entirely my own and not influenced in any way.*

2 thoughts on “Her White Lie by Jackie Walsh”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s