The Butterfly Garden by Sophie Anderson

I blamed my son for the death of my daughter…

When twenty-five-year-old Erin loses the man she loves, she flees London for Cornwall and takes a job at Hookes End, a huge house clinging precariously to the Cornish cliffs. The owner, frail reclusive novelist and butterfly enthusiast Maggie, has kept the curtains of her dusty house drawn for many years. But as she and Erin spend evenings together by the fireside, sharing stories of the past, Erin feels her shattered heart begin to heal. In return, Erin agrees to help Maggie find her long lost family before it is too late.

Years ago, Maggie’s son Lucas ran away to the other side of the world after the death of her daughter ripped the family apart. Maggie is desperate to see Lucas again – there is something she needs him to know.

Erin wants to help Maggie find peace so she vows to track down her lost son. But when at last she finds Lucas, in a far- away place of searing heat and pearly sands, it becomes clear that he is hiding something too.

As Erin grows closer to Lucas and unravels the webs of deceit entangling mother and son, she learns about the terrible tragedy that changed their lives forever: the night when a little girl in a fairy nightdress went missing. But with Maggie’s time fast running out, is it too late for them to find the forgiveness they need to move on?

A heart-wrenching page-turner about a family ripped apart by guilt and lies. Set against the storms of the Cornish coast and silvery tropical sands of a distant paradise, The Butterfly Garden is a story of love, loss and letting go. Fans of Jojo Moyes, Harriet Evans and Lucinda Riley will be gripped.

My Thoughts

⭐⭐⭐⭐

As soon as I read the description for this book I knew it would be a captivating read, and it certainly did not disappoint.

At the age of 25, Erin leaves her life in London behind after losing the man she loves, and embarks on a journey to start what she hopes to be a new, much happier life for herself in Cornwall. After finding herself a job at Hookes End, a beautiful – and extremely large – house, she gets to know the owner of the property Maggie. Despite her rather reclusive way of life, Erin and Maggie soon become confidents for one another.

As Erin learns more about Maggie and the reasons as to why she lives in such a manner, she takes it upon herself to help her reconnect with the son who left home without a word a year ago, in the hope of repairing the rift that has been created between the family following the tragic death of Maggie’s daughter.

With Lucas’ return comes many hidden secrets and layers of deceit that surround both Maggie and Lucas. It is clear from early on within this book that both mother and son are harbouring their own troubling secrets and worries, and the journey in which they take to finally allowing themselves freedom from these burdens is certainly an emotional one, but one you find truly reigniting your sense of hope and forgiveness too.

I loved how the characters within this novel interact with one another, from the bond Erin and Maggie form, to the romantically charged moments between Erin and Lucas, this story certainly offers the reader a vast array of perspectives and an in depth look into the workings of these very different relationships. Each of the characters are realistic and often relatable at times too, something which really allows you to connect with them on some level.

The storyline flows beautifully throughout, and is laced with the perfect amounts of romance, intrigue and suspense as the story begins to unfold. Sophie Anderson has produced a fascinating story that I found almost impossible to part with.

You can purchase a copy of this book by following the links below

Amazon: https://bit.ly/3iIoT3c

Apple: https://apple.co/2OY3Q08

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3lKrEke

Google: https://bit.ly/2NME1zE

About the Author

Sophie Anderson enjoyed a career in TV production in London before working with her husband to set up an online software business where she wrote the marketing content. But neither scratched that creative itch to tell a story, so she enrolled on a writing course and wrote her first novel The Butterfly Garden. She lives in Sussex with her husband, four children, a cocker spaniel and two cats.

https://www.facebook.com/sophieandersonfiction
https://twitter.com/MSophieanderson

*Thank you to Sarah Hardy at Bookouture and Sophie Anderson for providing me with a gifted copy of this book in return for my honest review. All thoughts are entirely my own and not influenced in any way.*

2 thoughts on “The Butterfly Garden by Sophie Anderson”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s