20/20 by Carl Goodman

Can you see a killer before it’s too late?

On the first day of her new job, D.I. Eva Harris is called to the scene of a brutal murder at the heart of Surrey society. A shocking crime by a meticulous killer – who escaped with the victim’s eyes.

With the body drained of blood and no forensic evidence left at the scene, Harris’ efforts to find the killer becomes desperate. But as her investigation is complicated by corruption at the heart of the police, she doesn’t know who to trust on her own team.

As the pressure mounts, Eva realises the murder is even more horrific than it seems, and her own dreadful history threatens to be drawn out with it…

A dark and compulsive detective novel, for fans of Chris Carter and M.W Craven.

My Thoughts

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

DI Eva Harris’ background is working in the world of cyber crime, but now she finds herself working within the Surrey Police department leading her own team. On her first day in this new role she is thrown in to the deep end when she is called to the scene of a brutal killing. The case begins to move forward with great pace, and Eva soon comes to realise that they are infact dealing with multiple killings. two murders that seem to have a lot in common.

Whilst in the midst of solving this troubling crime, Eva is asked to go undercover in order to seek out corrupt officers who are feeding information to a major, and well known drug baron Semion Razin. DI Harris soon finds herself immersed in a world full of danger and deceit as she works tirelessly to uncover the truth behind the murders, and locate the officers who are betraying the force.

If you are looking for a thrilling, all consuming read then this is definitely the book for you. The pace is set right from the start, with an opening chapter that has you hooked and desperate to known more. The characters are well fleshed out and relatable, all of them have realistic traits alongside flaws that make them more lifelike to the reader.

The storyline itself is well structured and has a lot of depth and drive from beginning to end. There were certainly moments when I found myself holding my breath as the events played out, so vividly I could almost picture the characters before me. The story has well plotted twists and turns that are impossible to predict and really add to the addictive nature of this read. This book has everything you could possible want from a thriller, and is certainly a book I will be telling others about!.

About the Author

Carl Goodman is from Surrey and 20/20 is his first crime thriller. It introduces Eva Harris, a newly promoted DI with a computer science background, thrown in at the deep end with an especially gruesome murder. Carl likes hard-hitting, contemporary stories with dark and unusual themes and is currently working on more DI Eva Harris novels.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Carl201010

*Thank you to Sarah Hardy at Book On The Bright Side, Hera Books and Carl Goodman for providing me with a gifted copy of this book in return for my honest review. All thoughts are entirely my own and not influenced in any way.*

2 thoughts on “20/20 by Carl Goodman”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s