The Mix Up by Elizabeth Neep

What if you meet the love of your life, but he thinks you’re someone else?

Anna and Marley are best friends. So when Anna rings Marley, panicking because she has to miss a tour of an exclusive wedding venue, Marley agrees to go in her friend’s place.

After being totally ignored by the glamorous receptionist who can tell she doesn’t belong there, Marley meets handsome hotel manager Cameron. He assumes she’s Anna and instead of admitting that she’s not the blushing bride, but the unlucky-in-love single friend, Marley plays along to see what it’s like to be Anna for a day.

After all, Marley is unemployed, single and was woken up that morning by her flatmate playing the bagpipes. Anna has a high-flying career and is planning the perfect wedding. Why wouldn’t Marley want to be her?

Only she wasn’t counting on Cameron being so smart and funny. Or this spark between them that she can’t ignore. She hasn’t felt this way about a guy in forever. But he thinks she’s somebody better.

Marley needs a way out of this mix-up to get her shot at true love. But her fictional fiancé is now standing in her way and it’s harder than she thought to stop living someone else’s life…

A funny, uplifting and poignant story of friendship, love and finding your way. Fans of Dolly Alderton, Mhairi McFarlane and Holly Bourne will adore Elizabeth Neep’s wit and warmth.

My Thoughts

⭐⭐⭐⭐

If you are looking for a light hearted, laugh out loud book that keeps you hooked to the very end, then this is certainly the book for you!. This is the second book I have read by Elizabeth Neep, and I daresay it is even better than the last!.

In this book we follow the story of Marley. She has been rather unlucky of late, she is unemployed, single, and certainly far from being happy with her living arrangements. When her best friend Anna calls her in a panic, Marley offers to help her friend out without a moments hesitation. This is how Marley finds herself standing in the reception area of a swanky hotel, with a receptionist who clearly thinks she is beneath her, and this is what leads her to pretending that she is in fact Anna.

But what Marley hadn’t been expecting was the funny and charming Cameron, the extremely handsome hotel manager, and the spark that would ignite between them. But as Marley is currently pretending to be someone far removed from who she truly is, she can’t see a way forward for her new budding romance, especially as she has a fake fiance and a wedding in the making to contend with!. Marley is desperate to put a stop to the ever growing web of lies to allow herself a shot at true happiness, but now that she has started this journey she has no idea how to step off the path she has set in motion.

This book was an absolute joy to read. It had me laughing out loud at several points, alongside feeling despair for Marley and the way she sees herself. Despite her lack of work and love life, she is a lovely character who has a heart of gold, and in her desperation to feel what it would be like to be her successful friend, she finds herself getting caught up in an ever growing lie.

The storyline is witty and poignant, giving us the perfect combination of humour and emotion as the story unfolds. Cameron is another character who really nestles their way in to your heart. He is humourous, fun and utterly swoon worthy, something that every rom com needs of course!.

A book full of friendship, love and hilarity. I truly enjoyed this story!.

You can purchase a copy of this book by following the links below

Amazon: https://bit.ly/3uZ292h

Apple: https://apple.co/2OuQrMs

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3ejXmmo

Google: https://bit.ly/3v4z7Pe

About the Author

Elizabeth Neep was born in 1990 in Derbyshire and now lives in London Bridge. After studying Law at the University of Nottingham and the University of New South Wales, she worked in magazine journalism, most noticeably writing for Dazed and Confused and PETRIe. Elizabeth now works as a non-fiction Senior Commissioning Editor and writes and paints in her spare time.

https://www.elizabethneep.com/
https://www.instagram.com/elizabeth_neep/?hl=en
https://twitter.com/elizabeth_neep

*Thank you to Sarah Hardy, Bookouture and Elizabeth Neep for providing me with a gifted copy of this book in return for my honest review. All thoughts are entirely my own and not influenced in any way.*

1 thought on “The Mix Up by Elizabeth Neep”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s