You Had It Coming by B. M. Carroll

WOULD YOU SAVE THE MAN
WHO DESTROYED YOUR LIFE?
When paramedic Megan Lowe is called to the scene of an attempted murder, all she
can do is try to save the victim. But as the man is lifted onto a stretcher, she realises
she knows him. She despises him. Why should she save his life when he destroyed
hers?
Jess Foster is on her way home when she receives a text from Megan. Once best
friends, the two women haven’t been close for years, not since the night when they
were just the teenage girls whom no-one believed; whose reputations were ruined. All
Jess can think is, you had it coming.
Now Megan and Jess are at the centre of a murder investigation. But what secrets are
they hiding? Can they trust one another? And who really is the victim?
Perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Lucy Foley and Lisa Hall, You Had It Coming is a
thrilling tale of suspense and dark secrets.

My Thoughts

⭐⭐⭐⭐

You Had It Coming is a fast paced thriller that centres around three leading characters – all of whom are women. The first character we meet is Megan. She is a paramedic, and whilst on shift she is called to a trauma scene where there has been a shooting. This isn’t something out of the ordinary for her unfortunately, in her line of work she encounters a lot of victims of shootings, however the big difference in this case is the person laying wounded on the floor before her. There is a clear hatred towards this man, but Megan tries to push all of her personal feelings aside as she begins trying to save this mans life, despite him destroying hers all those years before.

Next we meet Jess. She is a boxing coach, and uses this as an outlet for her own emotions which she struggles to deal with. Jess and Megan have a shared history, and when she learns of the fatal shooting, she can’t help but feel that this is karma coming back around, and that there is finally some justice in the world.

Bridget is the detective who is investigating the crime, and initially there is very little for her to go on in terms of evidence and motive. That begins to change as she learns of Megan’s shared past with the victim, something which she finds hard to put down to simply being a coincidence. As she begins pushing forward with the case, dark secrets from the past are uncovered, as well as there being a number of people who have a motive for wanting this man dead.

I really enjoyed the way in which this story is written. Alternating between the varying perspectives of Megan, Jess and Bridget, we get to see how three very different women are dealing with the event that has taken place, as well as learning how they are connected to the victim. The story is gritty and compelling, and tackles difficult subjects along the way with the right amount of detail to allow the reader a better understanding of the situations the characters faced. Each of the women had well developed personalities, each of them having their own individual stories to share as the story begins to unfold.

A captivating, perfectly paced read that was full of suspense and mystery to the very end. A brilliant read that I would highly recommend to others.

About the Author

B.M. Carroll was born in Blarney, a small village in Ireland. The third child of six, reading was her favourite pastime (and still is!).

Ber moved to Sydney in 1995 and spent her early career working in finance. Her work colleagues were speechless when she revealed that she had written a novel that was soon to be published. Ber now writes full-time and is the author of ten novels, including Who We Were, published by
Viper in 2020.

Find her on Twitter @bmcarrollauthor.

*Thank you to Anne Cater at Random Things Tours, Viper Books and B.M. Carroll for providing me with an ARC of this book in return for my honest review. All thoughts are entirely my own and not influenced in any way.*

1 thought on “You Had It Coming by B. M. Carroll”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s