The Cornish Midwife by Jo Bartlett #BlogTour

The Cornish Midwife

WELCOME TO THE BEAUTIFUL SEASIDE TOWN OF PORT AGNES.

A fresh start…

Midwife Ella Mehenick left the small Cornish town of Port Agnes for London and never looked back. But when her seemingly perfect life crashes down around her, there’s only one place she can heal her battered heart – the place she once called home. 

A new arrival…

Ella is quickly welcomed into the small community midwife team and loves her new job caring for mums and their precious babies – it’s what she does best! But being back also means facing ex-flame Dan Ferguson…the first man to break her heart. 

A second chance at love?

Dan is still as gorgeous as ever, but he’s never forgiven Ella for leaving. And now she’s back it’s clear that there is unfinished business between them. As Ella settles into her new/old life, she can’t stop the memories of how she once loved Dan so completely – and maybe never stopped.

Maybe coming home to Cornwall is Ella’s chance to love again…

Meet The Cornish Midwives of Port Agnes- where community, friendship and love are always delivered.

An uplifting and escapist read, perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Jessica Redland and Holly Martin!

This book was previously published as Return to Port Agnes.

My Thoughts

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Cornwall has been my perfect holiday destination for many years, so any story that is set in this beautiful part of the world instantly grasps my attention.

In this story we follow the life of Ella Mahenick is a midwife who upped and left her hometown of Port Agnes for what she hoped would be a perfect life in London. However, as we all know too well, life doesn’t always follow the path we expect – or want – it to, and when Ella finds herself the talk of social media following being jilted at the alter, her wonderful new life comes to an abrupt end.

Ella is in desperate need of some time to recover from this unwanted scandal, and she soon finds herself heading back to Port Agnes to stay with her parents after she manages to secure herself a six month work placement there. The midwife community within Port Agnes welcomes Ella back with open arms, and she soon finds herself settling back into the life she had years ago, all whilst embracing the job she adores.

Ella’s return is far from smooth sailing though. She soon comes face to face with Dan – her ex boyfriend who is far from over her rather sudden, unexpected departure many years ago. There is clearly a misunderstanding between them, and they both seem to be holding a grudge against one another. As they find themselves being forced together once again whilst living within the village, It becomes apparent that they both harbour feelings for one another, but with Ella feeling hurt by both Dan and her husband to be in London, she is a long way from putting her trust in a man any time soon.

This is the first book I have read by this author, and I can truthfully say that it won’t be the last. I loved the way in which this story was written, it really allows us to connect with Ella and understand her passion for her job on a much deeper level. The relationship between Ella and Dan was also lovely to follow, as they got to know one another once again, and had to face up to their past and what caused the demise of their romance all those years ago.

The characters were wonderfully developed and interesting, each of them having unique traits that changed the dynamic of the village considerably. Ella is one of those characters you just want the absolute best for, and I found myself really rooting for her and her happiness from the start.

A gorgeous storyline, a dreamy setting and characters that well and truly capture your heart. I fell in love with this story, and can’t wait to read future books by Jo Bartlett.

You can purchase a copy of this book by following this link: https://amzn.to/3tpFg7V

About the Author

Jo Bartlett is the bestselling author of nineteen women’s fiction titles. She fits her writing in between her two day jobs as an educational consultant and university lecturer and lives with her family and three dogs on the Kent coast. Boldwood is publishing the first title in The Cornish Midwife Series – part of a twelve-book deal – in April 2021.

Social Media Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JoBartlettAuthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/J_B_Writer Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jo_bartlett123/

*Thank you to Rachel’s Random Resources, Boldwood Books and Jo Bartlett for providing me with an ARC of this book in return for my honest review. All thoughts are entirely my own and not influenced in any way.*

3 thoughts on “The Cornish Midwife by Jo Bartlett #BlogTour”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s