Beyond This Broken Sky by Siobhan Curham #BlogTour

1940, London: An unforgettable novel about the strength of the human spirit in the face of war and the remarkable women who put themselves in danger on the front lines during the Battle of Britain.

As a volunteer for the ambulance service, Ruby has the dangerous task of driving along pitch-dark roads during the blackout. With each survivor she pulls from the rubble, she is helping to fight back against the enemy bombers, who leave nothing but destruction in their wake.

Assigned to her crew is Joseph, who is unable to fight but will stop at nothing to save innocent lives. Because he is not in uniform, people treat him with suspicion and Ruby becomes determined to protect this brave, compassionate man who has rescued so many, and captured her heart. Even if it means making an unthinkable choice between saving her own life and risking everything for his…

2019: Recently divorced Edi feels lost and alone when she moves to London to start a new life. Until she makes a discovery, hidden beneath a loose floorboard in her attic, that reveals a secret about the people who lived there in the 1940s. As she gradually uncovers a wartime love story full of danger and betrayal, Edi becomes inspired by the heroism of one incredible woman and the legacy that can be left behind by a single act of courage…

A sweeping tale of bravery and self-sacrifice that shows that even in the midst of war, hope and love can bloom. Perfect for fans of The Alice NetworkThe Secret Messenger and The Lost Girls of Paris.

My Thoughts

Every time I read a new book by Siobhan Curham I fall a little bit more in love with this authors wonderful writing style.

Following the story of Ruby, a young woman who has taken on a rather dangerous volunteering roll driving the ambulances down dark roads throughout the blackouts, she certainly seems to have a very strong mindset to take on such a job, something I am sure most of us would avoid.

Whilst helping save lives, a man called Joseph joins her team. As most of the men have gone off to fight in the war, Joseph certainly attracts the attention from the locals, but all Ruby cares about is his willingness to save lives alongside her – and when she learns of his reasons to stay behind, she takes it upon herself to stand up for this man.

Fast forward to 2019 where we meet Edi, a recently divorced woman who has moved to London in search of a new life for herself. Whilst aquainting herself with her new home, Edi discovers something hidden beneath the floorboards in the loft, something which allows her to connect with the people who occupied this house throughout the war.

This is the perfect distraction for Edi, as she loses herself within this war time love story and follows the tales of sorrow and deceit through the letters left behind.

I fell in love with this book instantly. The story is told in such a poignant way, it really pulls you in to the lives of the characters you encounter throughout it, and gives you a real sense of how troubling their lives must have been living through these years. The characters are wonderfully developed and have detailed personalities, each of them having their own unique story to share with hs along the way.

I adored the dual timeline in which this story was told. It really allows the reader to connect with both the past and present occupants of the house, and you can truly feel the emotions in which these characters experience throughout.

An emotional, utterly captivating story that I lost myself in. I loved everything about this book.

You can purchase a copy of this book by following the links below:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/3a6JWYh  

Apple: https://apple.co/3kj9Qf5

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3dQBJdx

Google: https://bit.ly/37A88Rx

About the Author

Siobhan Curham is an award-winning author, ghost writer, editor and writing coach. She has also written for many newspapers, magazines and websites, including The Guardian, Breathe magazine, Cosmopolitan, Writers’ Forum, DatingAdvice.com, and Spirit & Destiny. Siobhan has been a guest on various radio and TV shows, including Woman’s Hour, BBC News, GMTV and BBC Breakfast. And she has spoken at businesses, schools, universities and literary festivals around the world, including the BBC, Hay Festival, Cheltenham Festival, Bath Festival, Ilkley Festival, London Book Fair and Sharjah Reading Festival.

https://siobhancurham.com/
https://www.facebook.com/Siobhan-Curham-Author-398343120181969
https://twitter.com/SiobhanCurham
https://www.instagram.com/siobhancurham/

*Thank you to Sarah Hardy, Bookouture and Siobhan Curham for providing me with an ARC of this book in return for my honest review. All thoughts are entirely my own and not influenced in any way.*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s