Someone Who Isn’t Me by Danuta Kot #BlogTour

When the body of a twenty-four-year-old man is found on Sunk Island, a quiet stretch of land in Yorkshire, two facts
immediately stand out.

First: the killer wanted the body to be
found. Second, the dead man was a police officer, and he
had been working undercover.


Meanwhile, aimless 20-something Becca has multiple jobs
to keep her head above water. At night, in the local pub, she
serves punters and tries to work out what she wants to do
with her life. One thing that keeps her going is Andy, a
regular she always has a laugh with – and maybe
something more.


And then Andy vanishes. Becca is convinced that the shady
manager of her pub has something to do with his
disappearance. But in order to discover the truth, she’ll have
to put herself in danger. All for someone she doesn’t truly
know…


The gripping new novel from Dagger-Award-winning author
Danuta Kot, perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Tana French
and Denise Mina – a story about the people we are… and
the people we aren’t.

My Thoughts

After reading the description for this book I knew instantly that it would be a story that would consume me entirely, and I certainly wasn’t wrong.

DC Andy Yeatson has been working undercover as he begins investigating a drugs ring, but things soon take an awful turn when Andy is found dead, and although this alone is a tragedy, the repercussions that this has on those closest to him is only just beginning.

Becca Armitage is a barmaid who occasionally passes information on to the police, mostly via DC Yeatson, and the more time they have spent in each others company, the closer they have become. Becca is hoping now might be the time they can embark on a relationship, so when the news of Andy’s death comes it hits her incredibly hard.

Kay McKinnon is Becca’s mother, and she is currently trying to make a fresh start as a drugs counsellor following the tragic passing of her husband, something she is far from over as of yet.

DC Mark Curwen was Andy’s boss, and is ultimately the person responsible for sending him undercover in the first place, something he carries a lot of guilt over.

And each of these people end up paying the price for their association with Yeatson in various ways.

This story is told from multiple perspectives, which really allows the reader to feel connected to each of the characters as individuals. There are various stories intertwined throughout this book, which gives you a much better understanding of each of the characters and their emotions as they navigate their way through an incredibly turbulent time.

I really don’t want to give too much away about this incredible story, as I know that all of the twists and turns you encounter throughout make the story all the more compelling. What I will say though is that the way in which the author tells this story will have you on the edge of your seat to the very last page.

Perfectly paced and emotionally driven, this is so much more than a crime thriller. I will be recommending this book to everyone.

About the Author

Danuta Kot grew up with stories. Her Irish mother and her Polish father kept their own cultures alive with traditional tales they shared with their children. For many years, she worked with young people in Yorkshire who were growing up in the aftermath of sudden industrial decline.

She uses this background in her books to
explore some of the issues that confront modern, urban society: poverty, alienation and social breakdown, using the contexts of the modern crime novel. She now works as a senior education consultant, work that involves travel to establish education and training in other parts of the world.

She is a regular academic speaker at conferences and literary festivals, and has appeared on radio and television.

*Thank you to Anne Cater at Random Things Tours, Simon & Schuster publishing group and Danuta Kot for providing me with an ARC of this book in return for my honest review. All thoughts are entirely my own and not influenced in any way.*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s