The Choice I Made by Cynthia Ellingsen. #BlogTour

We all make hard decisions for love. Ones that can tear our heart out and leave us begging for answers. The most painful choice I’ve ever made, my darling child, was to say goodbye to you…

When Julie’s mother falls ill, she has no choice but to return to her parents’ Wisconsin resort, Wood Violet, for the summer. Away from the pressures of city life, Julie also hopes the trip will give her and husband Tristan the chance to heal after the heartbreak of another miscarriage.

Back home, surrounded by nature and old friends, Julie starts to feel a sense of calm she’d thought she’d lost forever. But her fragile peace is shattered when she stumbles upon an eighteen-year-old girl hiding out in an abandoned cabin. The girl, Margaret, seems lost in the world and Julie wants to help her—but when she finds letters in the girl’s backpack, Julie realizes Margaret isn’t telling the whole truth about why she’s here.

If Margaret finds what she’s looking for, it could expose a long-buried secret that could destroy the resort’s reputation and tear Julie’s family apart. And as the summer draws to a close, Julie must make a choice: will she return to Chicago with the man she married, or stay and fight for her parents and the home she loves?

Lose yourself in a life-affirming tale about love, betrayal and finding your true home, from the bestselling author of The Lighthouse Keeper. Fans of Mary Ellen Taylor, Barbara O’Neal and This is Not How it Ends will adore Cynthia Ellingsen’s captivating novel.

My Thoughts

The Choice I Made is a truly compelling family drama that reels you in from the very first page.

Julie is a hardworking lawyer who is working in a high pressure office in Chicago. Her husband Tristan works within the world of finance and he is extremely focused on appearances alongside making money. When Julie’s mother becomes ill, she finds herself heading back to the resort her parents run in Wisconsin to support them.

Tristan is far from enthusiastic and makes it clear that he is desperate to return to their successful lives back in Chicago. Julie finds herself in a difficult position as she is stuck between her husband and her parents, however given her mothers current health condition she makes the choice to stay.

Whilst back on the resort Julie finds herself reconnecting with her old friend Chase, and as they get to know one another as the people they have become, Julie finds herself questioning everything. When Julie then discovers a teenager called Margaret living in one of the abandoned cabins, and as she starts to learn more about her, she learns that Margaret is searching for her biological mother.

This is a fantastic book that really captures your attention from the start. The author has such a unique writing style which draws you in and has you well and truly invested in the characters and their lives as the story progresses. The characters were wonderful and relatable, with each of them adding something different to the story. I loved learning more about them as individuals as the story advances, and I certainly had high hopes for Julie finding happiness once more.

Wonderfully written and totally captivating, this is a fantastic story I would urge others to read.

You can purchase a copy of this book by following the links below:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/2PwDulR Apple: https://apple.co/2IOUVem Kobo: https://bit.ly/34arE59 Google: http://bit.ly/3qfMHvs

About the Author

Cynthia Ellingsen is an Amazon Charts bestselling author of contemporary women’s fiction. Her books feature heartwarming characters and strong family connections, often with a touch of mystery. The Starlight Cove series, her best-known work, is available on audio and has been translated into several languages.

Cynthia began her writing career as a screenwriter in Los Angeles and now lives in Kentucky with her family.

https://www.cynthiaellingsen.com/

https://www.facebook.com/cynthiaellingsen

https://www.twitter.com/CynEllingsen

* Thank you to Sarah Hardy, Bookouture and Cynthia Ellingsen for providing me with an ARC of this book in return for my honest review. All thoughts are entirely my own and are not influenced in any way.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s