Return to the Island by Kate Hewitt #BlogTour

What would her life look like without her beloved island in it? Where would she go? Ellen had come back here—to the place she felt she belonged—thinking she would stay here. But was it home… or just a place to hide?

1918, Canada: The First World War is over and those who have been fighting in Europe are heading for home, forever changed. Amongst the lost, the damaged and the broken, is former nurse Ellen Copley; who finds herself returning—not to her house in Glasgow, but to her childhood home on Amherst Island.

There, she feels sure, in the warm embrace of the McCafferty family, with her beloved Aunt Rose and her cousins, she will feel safe and loved. She will be able to escape the ghosts of the past and her loss, and find peace.

But the island is a changed place too. The war has affected life the world over, and Aunt Rose is struggling to keep their small farmstead going. The family’s only hope is asking their neighbours, the Lymans, to help. But Jed Lyman is a broken man, both physically and emotionally, and his once-adoring brother Lucas is now more distant than ever.

And as Ellen fights to save the farm, she has to ask: what makes somewhere a home? And—when help comes from an unexpected place—she wonders, has the man she’s destined to love been waiting for her out there all along?

This is the third and final novel in the unmissable Amherst Island Trilogy following the life of Ellen Copley from her humble beginnings in Scotland to the brutal battlefields of the First World War, and ultimately her return to beautiful Amherst Island. Perfect for fans of The Oceans Between UsThe Orphan Sisters, and Rhys Bowen’s The Victory Garden.

My Thoughts.

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

After following this series from the beginning, I couldn’t wait to dive into this book, which is the third and final installment in what I can only describe as an incredible series.

This book continues right where book two finished, merging the two books perfectly. With the war finally coming to an end, the characters in which we have grown to love throughout this series have to come to terms with a new reality, and how much everything has changed post war.

As Ellen comes to terms with it all, she embarks on another journey within herself, trying to find who she really is. Her heart certainly gets pulled from all directions, and she finally decides where – and with whom – her heart truly belongs.

This book captured my heart once again. After following the story from the start, I found myself really connecting with the characters and going through a range of emotions with them all as their individual stories unfold. The way in which this book was brought to an end was perfect, but i do now feel a sense of loss as I won’t be rejoining these characters again!.

Heartwarming and beautifully written. This story captured my heart from beginning to end. It was perfection.

About The Author.

Kate Hewitt is the author of many romance and women’s fiction novels. A former New Yorker and now an American ex-pat, she lives in a small town on the Welsh border with her husband, five children, and their overly affectionate Golden Retriever. Whatever the genre, she enjoys telling stories that tackle real issues and touch people’s lives. 
https://www.kate-hewitt.com/
https://www.facebook.com/KateHewittAuthor/
https://twitter.com/author_kate
Buy Link:Amazon: https://bit.ly/2JTMPSa

Thank you to Sarah Hardy, Kate Hewitt, and Bookouture for providing me with an ARC of this book in return for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s