Dreams of the Island by Kate Hewitt – Blog tour.

Hello again! I hope you are all staying well and are almost ready for Christmas! I am enjoying having more time to read books at the moment, and I am happy to share another wonderful book with you all.

Book Description:
Henry McAvoy leaned forward. “I have been looking for an artist just like you—a diamond in the rough, so to speak. And really, Miss Copley,” he said gently, “what do you have to lose?”

1911, Amherst Island, Canada: When a chance encounter takes Ellen Copley away from the beautiful island she has called home since she was orphaned as a child—she believes it is the new start she has been waiting for.

She settles into an exciting, creative new life in Glasgow, feeling like she’s finally finding her independence. And even though she left a part of her heart back on the island, she’s flattered by the attentions of her handsome, charming benefactor, Henry McAvoy.

But tragedy strikes their fledgling relationship, and soon after war looms over Europe. Emboldened by all she has loved and lost, Ellen leaves Scotland to become a nurse on the front line. And, as she finds herself having to choose between love and duty, desire and bravery, her courage is tested as never before.

The war rages on—and familiar faces appear on the front line, including her childhood sweetheart Jed Lyman and his brother Lucas. Coming face-to-face with her past, Ellen will learn what she is made of. But can she finally decide where her heart truly belongs?

This is the second book in the unmissable Amherst Island Trilogy that follows the life and love of Ellen Copley from the magic of Lake Ontario to the bloody battlefields of the First World War and beyond. Perfect for fans of The Oceans Between UsThe Orphan Sisters, and My Name is Eva.

Previously published as On Renfrew Street

My Thoughts:

I have been incredibly excited about reading and reviewing this book. After reading and thoroughly enjoying the first instalment of the Amherst Island Trilogy, my expectations for this book were incredibly high and I am glad to say it certainly didn’t disappoint.

Following Ellen’s story throughout this book really did take me on an emotional journey. I truly felt every emotion that the Author so beautifully portrayed throughout this book, from feeling heartbroken one moment, to the story taking another turn and then you are overcome with that heart warming sensation for the characters and the situations once more.

When Ellen moves back to Scotland to become a nurse on the frontline, she could never be prepared for the sights she will see, or the people she will encounter. When she comes face to face with Jed and Lucas who are both on the Frontline of the War themselves, she finds herself fighting an even greater battle within herself as she comes to realise what – and who – really matters in her life.

This story truly captivated me from beginning to end, and I struggled to put the book down at times as I was so invested in the story and the characters lives. I found the Character’s personalities fascinating, and the ways in which their own traits influenced their actions as the story unfolded.

Heart-breaking, Heart-warming, and so beautifully written. The story really captured my heart and I know without a doubt it is a story that will stay with me for a long time , and has got me incredibly excited for the final instalment in this incredible series.

Author Bio:
Kate Hewitt is the author of many romance and women’s fiction novels. A former New Yorker and now an American ex-pat, she lives in a small town on the Welsh border with her husband, five children, and their overly affectionate Golden Retriever. Whatever the genre, she enjoys telling stories that tackle real issues and touch people’s lives. 
https://www.kate-hewitt.com/
https://www.facebook.com/KateHewittAuthor/
https://twitter.com/author_kate


You can purchase this book via the below link:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/2VPcSwq

A huge Thank You to Sarah Hardy, Kate Hewitt, Bookouture and Netgalley for allowing me to read an ARC of this book in return for my honest review.

Please be sure to follow me on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook for more book news.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s