The Kensington Kidnap – by Katie Gayle

I am thrilled to be a part of The Kensington Kidnap blog tour and I am so happy to be able to share my review with you all today.

Book Description:
A missing teenager, a mysterious cult and a case of mistaken identity – just another day’s work for Epiphany Bloom.

Epiphany ‘Pip’ Bloom is down on her luck. She can barely afford cat food, and just because Most has three legs doesn’t mean he eats any less. So she absolutely can’t afford to mess up her latest temp job. But when she walks through the door of the private investigation firm, her new boss mistakes her for a missing persons expert. He then charges her with finding Matty Price – the teenage son of two A-list celebrities – who has mysteriously disappeared from his home in Kensington.

It ought to be a disaster, but Pip reckons it’s actually an opportunity. She’s always been curious (nosy, her mother calls it) and has an uncanny knack for being at the wrong place at the right time (she doesn’t want to know what her mother thinks of that). After years of trying to find something she’s good at, has Pip managed to walk straight into the job she was born to do?

She owes it to herself and poor missing Matty to find out.

But searching for Matty takes Pip into the strange, intimidating world of the rich and famous. And it soon becomes clear that some of these people’s love for themselves doesn’t extend to their fellow humans.

As Pip investigates further, she realises the question isn’t whether Matty ran away – it’s whether Pip will find him alive and make it home safely herself…

An absolutely brilliant, light-hearted cozy mystery for fans of M.C. Beaton, T E Kinsey, Lauren Elliott and Joanne Fluke, featuring an irresistible new heroine.

My thoughts:

I love romantic comedies, and I love thrillers too. So getting a combination of the two in this book had me feeling genuinely excited to start reading it.

When Ephinany Bloom, mainly known as Pip, finds herself being cut off from her Mothers funding – and she begins to fall behind in rent – she is forced into the working world and has to quickly take on a job. She is taken on by Sharon at Boston Investigations as a filing clerk. When she arrives on her first day, she finds herself being mistaken as an expert in Adolescent Psychology, and she finds herself being quickly thrown into a missing person’s case of a celebrity couples son.

What follows next is a tale full of misadventures and also self discovery. As she is thrown headfirst into the case, she finds herself having to use the knowledge she has collected over the years to gather clues that will help them find out exactly what happened. The only problem is – she has gathered this knowledge from watching many Television programs.

Pip has a big heart, and it is certainly in he right place. But one thing I loved about this book is how as she is thrown into this unusual case of mistaken identity, it really makes her grow as a person. Although she is usually the one in the wrong in a lot of circumstances, she seems to thrive throughout this book.

This book was an absolute delight to read! It was fun, heartwarming, and the perfect book to escape into. The characters – although not always relatable, were likeable, and my love for Pip grew stronger as the story unfolded. The author brings the setting to life beautifully and really brings the story to life in your mind.

I would like to thank Sarah Hardy for inviting me to be a part of this book tour. I would also like to thank Katie Gayle and Bookouture for my ARC copy of this book in return for my honest review.

Author Bio:
Katie Gayle is the writing partnership of best-selling South African writers, Kate Sidley and Gail Schimmel. Kate and Gail have, between them, written over ten books of various genres, but with Katie Gayle, they both make their debut in the cozy mystery genre. Both Gail and Kate live in Johannesburg, with husbands, children, dogs and cats. Unlike their sleuth Epiphany Bloom, neither of them have ever stolen a cat from the vet. 
https://twitter.com/KatieGayleBooks

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/396HfGh Apple: https://apple.co/33eKAi1 Kobo: https://bit.ly/35pAIF0 Google: https://bit.ly/2FobH1R

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s