One Winters Night – by Kiley Dunbar

I am so incredibly happy to be sharing my first Christmas review with you all! and what better date to start than December 1st..

Book Description:

A gorgeously uplifting, romantic read that will warm your heart – take a trip to Stratford-Upon-Avon, where magic happens…

It’s autumn in beautiful Stratford-Upon-Avon and Kelsey Anderson is enjoying her new life in her adopted town. Her Shakespearean tour guide days behind her, she’s now opened her own photography studio and loved up with boyfriend Jonathan – even if a long-distance relationship is sometimes lonely.

When best friend Mirren Imrie moves down from Scotland, Kelsey is delighted to have her friend at her side – and as the nights turn colder, Mirren throws herself into dating, until she finds herself growing closer to sexy journalist, Adrian Armadale. But when Mirren uncovers a long-buried scandal while working at the local newspaper, her big scoop might throw Kelsey’s – and Jonathan’s – life upside down. Will she choose her career over her friends’ happiness?

And when Jonathan returns from America and discovers the secrets Mirren has uncovered about his family, it throws his relationship with Kelsey onto shaky ground. Can they find their way back to love, before it becomes the winter of their discontent?

A romantic, funny and feelgood read that will make you smile from ear to ear. Fans of Milly Johnson, Heidi Swain and Holly Martin will fall in love with this cosy winter read!

My Thoughts:

This book is the second in the Kelsey Anderson series. After reading – and absolutely loving – One Summers night, I couldn’t wait to get stuck into this book and re-join all of the lovable characters once more.

Kelsey is still chasing her photography dreams in Stratford-Upon-Avon, and thinks she may have finally had her big break when a local paper asks her to take some photo’s of an Actress for a piece they are writing. Kelsey is shocked when she is given the address of her subject, when it turns out that she lives in the same building as her. When Kelsey meets Blythe for the first time, she realises there is something special about this lady, and a beautiful friendship begins to blossom from this moment onwards. Blythe is an eccentric elderly woman, who is without a doubt a force to be reckoned with. Although she is a bit if a recluse, she has many talents up her sleeves, including distilling her own – very strong – gin. I absolutely adored Blythe’s character, and following her relationship bloom with Kelsey made my heart so happy!.

Mirren – a character we all know and love from the first book makes an appearance too. After handing in her resignation at the newspaper she works for, and after putting up with her inappropriate colleagues for far too long – Mirren finds herself packing a bag and making her way to Stratford-Upon-Avon to join her best friend Kelsey. Things quickly change for her once she arrives. After her long term relationship coming to an end – Mirren swears off men. Then Aiden comes along. Mirren holds him at arms length for some time, but soon enough she can’t deny their attraction any longer. But with another curveball thrown into their story, will they get their happy ever after?.

This book was truly a delight to read. It had me laughing out loud at some moments, then feeling as though my heart was breaking the next. The storyline is so wonderfully written and really keeps the readers interest from beginning to end. Kiley’s writing style is beautiful and really makes you feel connected to the characters and the settings within this wonderful story. It is without a doubt a definite must read.

I would like to thank Netgalley, Hera Books, and Kiley Dunbar for allowing me to read an ARC of this book in return for my honest review

About the Author

Kiley is Scottish and lives in England with her husband, two kids and Amos the Bedlington Terrier. She writes around her work at a University in the North of England where she lectures in English Literature and creative writing. She is proud to be a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association and a graduate of their New Writers’ Scheme.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s