Very Nearly Normal- by Hannah Sunderland

Blurb:

Effie’s not perfect. Neither is Theo. But together, they’re pretty close.
 
Matilda ‘Effie’ Heaton has always felt like she’s swimming against the tide. Everyone around her has life sorted, but Effie’s living with her parents and crying into a wine bottle at night. The only thing she loves is her job at a bookshop, where she can lose herself in other people’s stories.
 
But then she meets Theo, who knows only too well that life isn’t something to take for granted.
 
Because Theo has a life-changing secret, and as Effie starts to realise that she’s falling in love instead of falling apart, fate steps in and deals her a new hand. And this time, the stakes are high.

A gorgeous, heart-breaking read for fans of Jojo Moyes and Gail Honeyman.

My Thoughts:

A beautifully written story about love, loss, and learning to love yourself. This book had everything I could possibly have wanted from a modern day romance novel.
The main characters Effie and Theo were instantly lovable and it was impossible to not be rooting for them throughout the story.
Effie found ways to cope with her struggles, one of which was alcohol, which I know unfortunately does affect alot of people. I thought this was written so perfectly, and sensitively, that it really did make you love Effie all the more.

I could talk about this book all day long, and I know without a doubt that it is one of those stories that will stay with me for a long time. A truly beautiful, romantic story… just perfection.

I recieved an ARC of this book via Netgalley & Avon books in return for my honest review.

About the Author

Hannah Sunderland was born and bred in Sutton Coldfield, north of Birmingham, where she still lives with her menagerie of animals. She has a BA Hons degree in Fine Art and now runs her own business, a company that makes props for crime scene reconstruction.

She inherited the writing gene from her father. She has an obsessional love of stationery, cats and Sour Patch Kids. The writing bug set in when someone handed her a notebook and she realised that she could create a world within it. Her claim to fame is playing Tree #4 in her year one school play.

This book is available to purchase via Amazon : https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07Z4C8RG5/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_kKPhFbH96J9RF

Also available from other retailers.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s